Self portrait of someone who’s never seen their reflection. BLAH BLAH BLAH

Everything Shea Hembrey says is genius. Faaar out.

Totally inspires me to actually pick up a dang paint brush and become the artist I was told never to stop being.

I remember my art lecturer tell me he’d hunt me down if ever he found out I stopped.

Take the time to watch this guys TED talk.

Points the middle finger at what society (being A: cafe art or B: craaaaap post-modern flippity flop wannabies) labels as an artist.

My favourite quote: “If I can’t explain this artists work to my Grandma in 5 minutes it’s either to complicated or unrefined”.

He also has this philosophy that good art (no matter what genre/medium) uses the 3 H’s:

Head: Intellectual and has thought and intentionality,

Heart: It would have passion and soul, and

Hand: well crafted (as in…talent).

Spot on Sir Shea.

To much art is all of one and not enough of the other.

http://ted.com/talks/view/id/1169

So this truly does make me want to get out of my shadow and start creating the light.

I have this idea- sort of a spin off from his idea (on sooooch a smaller scale) that really does stick it to cafe art.

I’ll keep you posted. There’s I spose a bit of artistic integrity to think through first.

Leave a Reply

