Postcards

Dear Diary…..it’s been a while.

Sound familiar?
Dang. I have been avoiding writing my thoughts.
Im a bit lost. Im in a tangled web of my own doing. I’ve never been here before. I might like it- it might choke me. But the truth of it is I feel numb. I have avoided being by myself, or being too deep.

Click on the link below to hear my favourite singer/songwriter do a better job of explaining how I feel. (you’ll need to click on the Postcards track too…)

Postcards

Lyrics:

"At seventeen she ran away to the cityThought she would find herself thereScared and afraid, she pan-handled all dayTo get enough for a one-way fareAnd a taxi to the nearest greyhound busMade a call, mom said please come home to us

I'm searching, I'm travelingMy life's been unravelingI still don't know where this will leadEnjoying the weatherI'll get it together so don't worryI'll send you a postcardFrom my journey to me

Crawled through the desertAnd swam in the oceanTried meditationAnd a few magic potionsMarched at the WhitehouseAgianst the attacksSent a call out to BuddahBut he never called backAnd I'm thinking there must be somethingI have missedWhat do you think of all this

I'm searching, I'm travelingMy life's been unravelingI still don't know where this will leadEnjoying the weatherI'll get it together so don't worryI'll send you a postcardFrom my journey to me

If you can't find all the answers from anyone elseYou'll just have to see for yourselfUnder a blanket and up on a mountainA sleeping bag prayerWhere she drank from the fountainThought about Sunday schoolThought about JesusLove that's so simple, grace that's so geniusAnd just like those ruby red slippers you knowThe answers were there in her soul

I'm searching, I'm travelingBut I'm not unravelingI still don't know where this will leadEnjoying the weather, it feels like foreverSince I've seen TennesseeThis is the last of my postcardsI'll be back home by the next starI love you all with all my heartSincerely, Me"


Leave a Reply

